The boys bowling team returns three members from last year's nearly perfect team: senior Cory Mullica (3 letters), junior Jon Ladines (1 letter), and junior James Morris (1 letter). Although the boys lost some key team members, the promoted JV members from last year show great improvement from last year's team. Joining the seasoned bowlers will be juniors Shaun Barnett and Chris Zugelder and sophomores Justin Bacon and David Parker. The week of tryouts and the first week of practice showed glimpses of what should prove to be another outstanding season. All bowlers are competitive as they work to earn a starting position for each match. The entire team had consistently high scores during the two-week pre-season period, and they formed a cohesive group with determination to have a season that would compare with last year's season of 16-1.

The JV team will see only one returning bowler, sophomore Daniel Mimm. Joining Daniel will be Brandon Brunson, Joseph Cummins, Joseph Cummins, Matt Inman, Eddie Johnson, Brian Larson, Eric Lotti, and Jason Summerville. The team has some bowlers that show potential as leaders, but they will need to work together to gain the confidence they need to win matches. They should have a very good season as they gain their skills.

The girl’s team will miss their senior leaders from last year. Junior Ashley Preston is the only returning varsity lettermen; she will be joined by Senior Jolene Krause Juniors Stephanie Baier and Sophomores Lynn Hohmeister and Darrah Phillips, who also saw action last season. Rejoining the team will be Christina Cardello, who was an outstanding JV bowler during her sophomore year. Newcomers Jenna Cardenas (Senior), Lauren Pfeifle (Senior), and Renetta Kleier show promise of being strong contenders. The girls appear to have the potential to finish with a winning record that may surpass last season.

Some of the above girls will be sharing responsibilities on the JV team when needed. Joining them will be a group of newcomers to the Apopka High bowling squad: Samantha Smith, Rachel Totaram, and Deandra Turner. Some girls are beginning bowlers and will need to develop the skills needed for competition. They will have the opportunity to do so as most schools do not have a JV girls team, so their first match will not be until the third week.

For the 2006 season, the Metro champion will be determined in a different format from last year. Rather than a mini-tournament with the top team from the west pitted against the top team from the east, the winner will be determined by the best record from the first ten different Metro matches. This allows more flexibility in scheduling and the opportunity to bowl more schools, rather than only half the schools in the county.

Apopka High School will be bowling in District 9 to earn a spot in the State Tournament. The other teams included in this district are Bishop Moore, Circle Christian (boys only), Colonial, Edgewater, Evans, Ocoee, Trinity Prep, West Orange, and Winter Park.