The boys bowling team again returns a strong nucleus from last year’s team as the 2004 team had no senior starters. Returning seniors Kyle Paxson (3 letters), Mitchell Schilling (2 letters), Andrew Calvache (2 letters), and junior Cory Mullica (2 letters) saw lots of action last year in starting positions during both the regular season and the Metro conference. Seniors Aaron Scheer and Charles Morris shared the fifth position throughout the season, with Sophomore James Morris seeing some varsity action during the season as well as at the Metro tournament. This group will be joined by Bradley Preston (Senior), who moves up from the JV squad, and newcomers Jon Ladines (Sophomore) and Shaun Barnett (Sophomore).

The JV team will be led by returning Junior Chris McCartney. Joining Chris will be Sophomores Keegan Matthews, Ian O’Neill, and Christopher Zugelder as well as Freshmen Justin Bacon, Harley Dunkle, Daniel Mimm, and David Parker.

The girl’s team will miss their leader, Robin Wright, but shows promise with improved scoring by returning lettermen and new talent. Returning lettermen are Seniors Jennifer Beisham, Cheryl Ruehlen, Amy Seay, and Marie Kaleel (each having earned 2 letters) as well as Catrina Cruger (1 letter). Joining this nucleus will be Seniors Kelly Ansell and Holly Halsey, Sophomores Ashley Preston and Stephanie Baer, and Freshman Sara Hohmeister.

Some of the above girls will be sharing responsibilities on the JV team when needed. Joining them will be a group of newcomers to the Apopka High bowling squad: Juniors Jolene Krause and Loren Margiotta and Freshmen Darrah Phillips and Katrina Badorrek.

The boy’s squad looks extremely strong to start the season as it will be made up of experienced bowlers, from both the Varsity and JV squads, who have each improved their game since last year. Jon Ladines, the new man on the team, should prove to be a valuable asset as well, showing promise of being one of the high scorers on the team. If the team can work together as a cohesive unit, they should be able to have a very promising season and make it to the State Tournament.

Although the girl’s squad will miss the leadership of graduate Robin Wright, they have a strong foundation in Seniors Kaleel, Seay, and Beisham, who were regular starters on last year’s squad. Cruger will see more action this year on the varsity squad as a strong leader, and Preston will move up from JV to play an important role. Each girl will need to earn their way onto the starting lineup as they share very similar talents. If each girl can continue to improve, they too should have a promising season.

Apopka High School will be bowling in District 9 this year to earn a spot in the State Tournament. The other teams included in this district are Bishop Moore, Colonial, Edgewater, Evans, Ocoee, Trinity Prep, Winter Garden, and Winter Park. The new districting will allow more Orange County schools to enter the State Tournament as two schools from each district will be allowed to compete, rather than only two from all of Orange County as in previous years.